CTRND Trainees

Postdoctoral Associates

Dr. Cara Croft- Golde Lab
Dr. Pradeep Kamat- Doré Lab
Dr. Christian Lessard- Golde Lab
Dr. Lei Liu- Doré Lab
Dr. Mayur Parmar- Dr. Nikolaus McFarland Lab

Graduate Research Assistants

Jess-Karan Singh Dhillon- Giasson Lab
Marshall Goodwin- Levites Lab
Matthew Hamm- Lewis Lab
Christina Moloney- Lewis Lab
Michael Pace- Borchelt Lab
Sruti Rayaprolu- Lewis Lab
Kevin Strang- Giasson Lab

Medical Students

Hunter Futch (MD/PhD)- Golde Lab

Masters in Biotech

Morgan Carson- Doré Lab

Past Graduate Students and Where They Are Now

Rachel M. Bailey received a PhD     Aug 2010 -Dec 2013
Mentors: Dr. Steven Gray & Dr.  Jada Lewis
Fellowships & Awards
• Received a Parkinson’s Disease fellowship
• Received a Mayo Graduate School Fellowship
• 2013  Robinson Neuroscience Achievement Award, Tallahassee, FL
Doctoral Thesis: Modulators of Tauopathy in the Rtg4510 Mouse Model
Went to: Postdoctoral Fellow, Gene Therapy Center, UNC, Chapel Hill https://www.med.unc.edu/genetherapy/research-laboratories/gray-lab/gray-lab-members/rachel-bailey

Joo In Jung received a PhD    Aug 2010-Dec 2014
Mentor: Dr. Todd Golde
Doctoral Thesis: Biological and Therapeutic Implications of Gamma-Secretase Modulators in Alzheimer’s Disease
Went to: Clinical Research Coordinator, UCSF Memory and Aging Center      http://memory.ucsf.edu/ourcenter/staff/jjung

Celeste M Karch received a PhD    2005 Aug-2009 May
Mentor: Dr. David Borchelt
Doctoral Thesis: Mechanisms of superoxide dismutase 1 aggregate formation in familial amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
Went to: Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry, BJC Institute of Health, Hope Center for Neurological Disorders,  Washington University School of Medicine     https://hopecenter.wustl.edu/?faculty=celeste-karch-phd

Mercedes Prudencio Alvarez received a PhD    Aug 2005-Dec 2009
Mentor: Dr. David Borchelt
Fellowships & Awards
• 2005  Research Fellowship from the Ministry of Education and Science (Spain)
• 2005  Grinter Travel Award, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL
• 2006-2009  Outstanding International Student Award, University of Florida
• 2007  Bronze winner in the COM Medical Guild Competition-Neuroscience, UF
• 2007-2009  Travel award, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL
• 2008  Robinson Neuroscience Achievement Award, Tallahassee, FL
Doctoral Thesis: Implication of detergent-insoluble aggregates of superoxide dismutase 1 in familial amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
Went to: Assistant Professor; Department of Neuroscience, Mayo Clinic, Jacksonville, FL

Amanda N Sacino received a PhD     Aug 2011-May 2014
Mentor: Dr. Todd Golde
Fellowships & Awards
• 2013 Wilder Family Fellow in Alzheimer’s Research
• 2013 MBI Travel Award (to San Diego for SFN Conference)
Doctoral Thesis: Studies of Induction of Alpha-Synuclein Inclusion Pathology
Went to: Neurology Fellow, Johns Hopkins

Andrew T Tebbenkamp received a PhD    Aug 2005- Aug 2010
Mentor: Dr. David Borchelt
Fellowships & Awards
• 2005 – 2007 Dr. Linton E. Grinter College of Medicine Graduate School Fellowship, UF
• 2011 – 2012 NINDS Training Grant 5T32NS007224-27, Department of Neurobiology, Yale
Doctoral Thesis: Characterizing In Vitro and In Vivo Proteolysis of Huntingtin in Huntington’s Disease
Went to: Associate Research Scientist at Department of Neurobiology, Yale University School of Medicine, New Haven, CT     https://medicine.yale.edu/lab/sestan/people/andrew_tebbenkamp.profile

Nicola Rutherford received a PhD 2017
Mentor: Dr. Benoit Giasson
Went To:Clinical Chemistry Fellowship Program, Department of Pathology, Vanderbilt University Medical Center, The Vanderbilt Clinic, Nashville, TN

Keith Crosby received a Master’s Degree 2014
Mentor: Dr. David Borchelt
Master’s Degree Thesis: Immunophenotyping of Transgenic Mouse Models of Neurodegenerative Proteinopathies
Went to: Research Scientist, Regeneron Pharmaceuticals